Pathway: isDon's home -> Photos home -> Images by location -> Northern Territory -> Central Australia -> Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park ->

Kata Tjuta - general (no specified attraction)

Kata Tjuta, from a Pitjantjatjara word meaning many heads, consists of 36 weathered rock domes, the highest being 546 metres, (1066 metres above sea level). They are all part of the one rock, with several km more underground.

The rocks consist of sedimentary rock conglomerate - a mix of gravel, pebbles and boulders cemented together by sand and mud, containing many minerals and other rock types including basalt and granite.

Formerly known as 'The Olgas', named after Queen Olga from a country that no longer exists (I don't know where I read that but I can't find it now so I don't know the name of the country!). They reverted to their traditional name when returned to the traditional owners.


Kata Tjuta (The Olgas). Kata Tjuta (The Olgas). Kata Tjuta (The Olgas).

Click on any thumbnail for a larger image.

All images and content on this site © Don O'Connor.

isDon's home | Who isDon? | Contact Don | About this site | Site map